on being a victim

The BBC reports today that Assembly Members in Wales are concerned about the lack of progress made in dealing with violence and aggression towards health care workers. I’m concerned too. In fact I despair. Over 50000 health care workers are victims off assault every year, 3500 of them are GPs, nurses and other staff in primary care. In 2007 trainee GP Johannah Langmead was assaulted by a mentally ill patient in her surgery in an unprovoked attack that kept her off work for nearly two months with anxiety and flashbacks. Her attacked was spared jail due to his mental illness.

When I was assaulted I was an SHO in psychiatry, and had been called to the “136 suite”. Section 136 of the Mental Health Act allows policemen to apprehend someone who appears to be suffering from a mental disorder and take them to a “place of safety”, usually the acute psychiatric unit. I had at this point been in psychiatry for about four months so I had done this before many times. I entered the room to assess the woman who had been brought in, and started examining her by asking a few questions. She had been found acting strangely by a railway track, so I began by asking her what had happened today. Then suddenly out of nowhere, I was being punched in the face and head. My instinct was to protect myself – I put my hands over my face while the punches continued. The psychiatric nurses who had been gossiping in the corridor pulled her off me and grappled her to the floor, while I ran into the next room, barely able to comprehend what had just happened. “She just hit me, she punched me in the head” was all I could say or think. And when I’d called my husband to collect me and take me home, my recurring though was simply, “She hit me”.

I was lucky in many ways that I suffered no serious damage, and as the assault happened the day before two weeks’ planned annual leave, I needed no time off work. My husband, however, was furious. He is not involved in healthcare, and he struggled to accept the fact that assault is a constant threat especially to front line staff (particuarly in A&E and psychiatry). He asked about why it happened, how this woman was able to carry on hitting me for so long before help arrived, and I didn’t really know what to say.

You see, we know the theory, but the infrastructure to protect NHS staff is just not there. My current surgery is a 1960s building, and security was clearly not a huge concern when it was built. The room and door layouts are in most cases designed for doctor and patient convenience rather than doctor safety. If I have a patient sitting in the chair next to my desk, they could if they wished pick up the chair and barricade me in my surgery and if I couldn’t reach my panic alarm I’d have to hope I was able to scream out and be heard. I wouldn’t be able to get past them as the room is only big enough for a desk, three chairs, an examination couch and a sink. When I read today’s article and started thinking about my assault I remember vowing to myself that I’d be constantly vigilant for ever more, about room layouts, security procedures and panic alarms, about protecting myself and protecting my colleagues. But time moves on and you become complacent, and try not to think about it too much. After all, it probably won’t happen to you. I think it’s time to think again.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “on being a victim

  1. DERRYN

    Dear Nice Lady Doctor –
    Your postings are kind and insightful.
    It’s the unexpectedness of assaults by patients and relatives that can be so shocking, as I know from my nursing experience.

  2. ageingstudent

    When I was a volunteer with the Samaritans several years ago, our interview rooms were all laid out so that we sat between the door and the ‘client’. We wore panic alarms on our persons (out of sight) not hidden under the desk. It was pretty much the same in my working life (in a bank) – personal attack alarms and we always sat between the customer and the door; after all people can turn nasty when you turn them down for a loan! I have to say that the surgery where I go has the layouts as you describe for the doctors, but the nurses sit nearest to their doors.

  3. I survived two attempts of strangulation by psychotic patients. During one attempt to strangle me, I thought I would die, but I manage to defend myself by using self-defence in the last minute. One patient though I was male Spanish inquisitor, the other did not like me because I asked why did he think he was Bob Dylan. At his appeal against the Section 2 of Mental Health Act 1983 he went with a guitar and played and sang a song by Bob Dylan, not badly at all. He resembled him physically as well. At that time the real Bob Dylan was giving a concert in London, and one member of the Mental Health Review Tribunal asked me how we could be sure he was not the real one. Yes, there is always something worse!

  4. i swear..as docs we should really fight for our rights.. n all these assaults n all on docs.. its horrible… we should take measures for all these…

Leave a Reply

